Tags

, , , ,

I’ve have a new idea for a story and it’s been whirling in my mind. Images, characters, locations, incidents have all been revealing themselves to me.

I’ve completed a mind map for most of it and last week I wrote the first few scenes. There are plenty of unanswered questions and gaps in the story and I’m not even sure I know how it will end. I’ll need to figure that all out, but for now it feels like a story that can be good. A story I can write. 

Writer’s are often told,

Write what you know.

and this is a topic I know about!

But what about my WIP?

So much left to do. I’m not done with it, at least I don’t want to be. I want to keep working on it but I think I’ve gotten to the hard(est) part and I’ve been feeling stuck for some time!

In the meantime, this new story has gotten my attention. Writing, creating – it’s the part most writer’s love the best and I’m no exception. The characters lure me in, their stories grab me, the scenes play before my mind’s eye, the words spill from my pen. It’s intoxicating and makes it easy to forget the hard(er) work of revising my WIP.

I’ve also often heard a writer should

Let your story marinate.

Put it aside and work on something new so when I go back to it I will see it with a fresh perspective. This is supposed to be good for the story.

I hope that’s true. My fear is that I’ve gone through this before — finish a draft, get stuck, move onto the next story. It’s a familiar cycle. Rarely do I ever get back to that draft, or the previous one, or the one before that. I thought this WIP was different. I’ve reached many more milestone with this one:

  • Over 100,000 words
  • 3 drafts/revisions
  • More awareness of what to look for during revisions 
  • And I’ve actually told people about where I am in the process

But I worry if I start on this new one, I’ll get carried away and never get back to finishing it.

The Beta-Reader

Ideally, I’d like to have my WIP out to beta-readers and then work on the new story while waiting for feedback, but I’m just not ready to share. Not yet.

Oh and I don’t have any beta readers lined up. Yeah, I need to work on that too, so my question to you is: Do you have any tips about how to find good beta readers? How did you find yours? I’d love to hear about it!

In the meantime, I’m off to jot down a few notes about this new story … but just a few … oh and maybe write that scene that’s been playing in my head … and …

*gets swept away in new story* 

