Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We took a one week vacation, this past week. Including weekends we were off for 9 days. Before it started I ambitiously thought of all the time I’d have for writing in my journal, blog posts, and for editing my WIP. So how much writing and editing did I do with all of that time off from work? None! That’s right nada, zip, zero, zilch. And I’m okay with that. We had a great week off!

So what did I do?

We started our vacation by going to the movies. We went to see Twilight on premiere night. Say what you will — I loved it! The next day we saw Skyfall, not my favorite James Bond movie, that would be the one with Halle Berry. What could be better than Halle Berry as a Bond girl?

Halle Berry as Jinx in James Bond, Die Another Day

Halle Berry as Jinx in James Bond, Die Another Day

Plus we watched a few classics like ‘Dial M for Murder’ (one of Hitchcock’s best, IMO) and ‘Marnie’ (also by Hitchcock).

We took a day trip to NY and stopped for Cuban food on the way back home. That’s always a fun day!

Then we took a quick trip to Florida to visit the in-laws for Thanksgiving. And I do mean quick — flew out on Wednesday and back on Friday. I spent most of my time there squashed between the two boys (ages 8 and 10) playing pictionary and hang man on the iPad. The rest of my time I spent making paper airplanes.

We bought the boys an “easy” airplane kit with a How To book and a bunch of colorful paper. After we picked out our “easy” airplane and looked at the instructions, I quickly realized it wasn’t going to be very easy at all! But the 8-year-old and I painstakingly folded the paper, measured, cut, and glued for hours. Have I ever mention how bad I am at math? I’m really bad. No, I mean REALLY bad!! I had trouble figuring out 3/8 of an inch on the ruler and I was pretty sure brother-in-law didn’t know either, but acted like he did. I Googled it and still wasn’t sure, so I guessed. After the second hour (yes, still on the first plane) I decided to skip a step here and there and purposefully threw out a part by hiding it in between two pieces of scrap paper before the 8-year-old noticed. I couldn’t figure out how to attach it, so I winged some of it — *Innocent shoulder shrug* But you know what? After 2 and a half hours of paper plane construction, that little plane flew!

Eagle Model paper plane

No, this is not the plane we made, but it was just as complicated! Seriously!!

We flew it back and forth from one side of the living room into the hallway, into the wall a few times, once behind the TV and the sofa too. And it almost flew into the turkey being prepped in the kitchen, passed the running faucet water, landed on the floor and almost got stepped on. I squealed out loud at the thought of it being crushed after all that work. Luckily my reaction was enough to avert such destruction.

I knew I’d have to spend the next day, Thanksgiving, building airplanes with the boys. Thanks to the hotel wifi I was able to find easy folding airplanes (here’s the link in case you ever find yourself in this situation). We made a bunch of them! Some better than others — a few flew straight into the ground, but we still had fun.

Of course we also ate a lot. I mean really ate a lot! But hey that’s what we were there for, right?

Other Distractions:

Once we got back home, we went shopping on Saturday (we were busy flying back on Black Friday) but there were still plenty of sales. We mostly spent our time looking and came home with nothing. We figure there’s still plenty of time before Christmas to get a good deal on that shiny new TV we’re eyeing, with all its awesomely distracting features!

Yesterday we pulled out our Christmas decorations, untangled lights, borrowed a ladder and got to decorating. That’s always fun, even when it’s cold and windy outside. At least it wasn’t raining.

Blog Overload:

I found I got quite distracted by all the emails I suddenly started receiving from the new blogs I’m following. I may have over done it there. Some bloggers are such prolific writers sending daily posts and some even twice a day. Where do they find the time? I don’t know, but I couldn’t find the time to keep up with all those emails. Even though they all seemed to have good information and I don’t want to miss out on anything important, I had to change my subscriptions on some of them. It was overwhelming and I felt pressure to read them all, before I took time to start writing and then I ended up not writing at all. I’ll have to manage this distraction before it gets out of control and find better balance between reading and writing.

Last Day of Vacation

And so today … day nine of our vacation … the last day before heading back to work and we’re taking it easy. Nothing major on the agenda for today, just trying to get back into our usual routing. I finally took a little time to write. Glad to be doing it too. I am a little disappointed that I didn’t spend more time writing or editing during vacation, but not too much. We had a great time and it was all worth it!

Three Street signs, one says Work, one says Life and one says Balance

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ll just have to get back on track and try harder to fit writing and editing in, even with December quickly approaching. Uh-oh, that means more distractions — Christmas shopping, ugly Christmas sweater parties, dinner invites and more. I guess I better learn to work around those distractions if I want to meet my goal!

Do I see a New Year’s Resolution in the making? I think I do.

What about you, how was your holiday? And do you have any resolutions you’re planning to make that you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about them!

